Welcome to the Map Room. Below, you can find an interactive map of Philip's walk and track his daily progress on this 160 mile journey from New Bern to Durham and all his stops in between.

Itinerary:

Day 1  (Monday, May 11):  Union Point Park in New Bern to Cove City

Day 2 (Tuesday, May 12): Cove City to Kinston 

Day 3 (Wednesday, May 13): Kinston

Day 4 (Thursday, May 14): Kinston to Seven Springs

Day 5 (Friday, May 15): Seven Springs to Goldsboro

Day 6 (Saturday, May 16): Goldsboro to Princeton

Day 7 (Sunday, May 17): Princeton to Smithfield

Day 8 (Monday, May 18): Smithfield to Clayton

Day 9 (Tuesday, May 19): Clayton to Raleigh

Day 10 (Wednesday, May 20): Raleigh

Day 11 (Thursday, May 21): Raleigh to Morrisville

Day 12 (Friday, May 22): Morrisville to Downtown Durham

Day 13 (Saturday, May 23): Downtown Durham to Duke Homestead

 

The map below shows Philip's Route and his planned stops.

Washington's Route

In 1865, Washington Duke would have most likely traveled home from New Bern by following the route taken by the North Carolina Rail Road, which passed through Kinston, Goldsboro, Raleigh, and finally Durham on its way to Greensboro. 


Philip's Route

In the modern era Philip is bound to roads which follow a similar path to the rail road which cut across the state 150 years ago.